Your Finance GuideAustralian finance educationGet matched
Home loan features

Fixed rate break costs explained

A break cost is the fee a lender charges when you end a fixed rate home loan early, by refinancing, selling, switching products or repaying more than the loan allows. It represents the lender's loss on the wholesale funding behind your fixed rate, so it is large when rates have fallen since you fixed and can be zero when they have risen. This guide covers when it is charged, how it is calculated with a worked example, the prepayment thresholds lenders publish, and the ways to avoid it.

Refinancing paperwork, a calculator and a pen on a desk.
Balance x years left x rate fall
$300,000 with two years to run and a 1% fall is about $6,000 (Home Loan Experts).
Written by Sarah ChenReviewed by James Mitchell, Editor-in-ChiefLast reviewed Published
Break costs at a glance
  • Charged when you refinance, sell, switch products or repay above the threshold during a fixed term; Westpac publishes it can be charged more than once
  • Sized by the balance, the time left and the fall in wholesale rates since you fixed; it can be tens of thousands of dollars (Westpac, St.George) or nothing if rates have risen
  • Prepayment thresholds: NAB $20,000 per fixed period; St.George and BankSA $30,000 for the whole fixed period; Westpac publishes a threshold without the figure
  • Portability avoids it when you sell and buy (Westpac, St.George); a variable split takes the extra repayments; waiting for the fixed term to end avoids it on a refinance
  • Get the quote in writing: it changes daily with wholesale rates and is valid only briefly

WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the example given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees, or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate. Comparison rates are based on a secured loan of $30,000 over 5 years for vehicle finance and $50,000 over 5 years for equipment finance, as required under the National Credit Code.

What is a break cost?

Westpac's definition: a break cost is a fee that may apply if you end a fixed rate home loan early, which might be due to refinancing, selling your property, or making large extra repayments before your fixed term ends, and the fee helps cover the cost to the lender of obtaining the money for your loan on the wholesale money market. St.George puts it as the fee that represents its loss if you repay early or switch product. The names vary: NAB says economic cost, CommBank says early repayment adjustment, and Westpac publishes a list of the alternatives. They all mean the same calculation.

When is it charged?

St.George publishes two kinds. A prepayment break cost applies if you prepay part or all of the loan before the fixed period ends and the amount exceeds the prepayment threshold. A switching break cost applies if you switch to another product, interest rate or payment type before the fixed period ends. Westpac adds that any change on a fixed loan may incur it, that it may not be a once-off charge, and that a default with the whole balance falling due can trigger it if wholesale rates have moved. Refinancing to another lender is a full repayment, so it is the largest and most common trigger.

How is it calculated?

Every lender publishes that its formula is complex and that you should ask for a quote; St.George says its formula is available on request. Home Loan Experts publishes the simplified version: break cost = loan amount × remaining fixed term × change in the cost of funds, where the cost of funds is the wholesale swap rate the lender used when it fixed your loan compared with the rate it can reinvest at now. Its worked example: $300,000 with two years remaining and a 1% fall in wholesale rates gives $300,000 × 2 × 1% = about $6,000. Double the balance or the time left and the cost doubles; if wholesale rates have risen since you fixed, the lender has no loss and the break cost is nil, which is why break costs were small in a rising-rate cycle and large after cuts.

BalanceFixed term remainingFall in wholesale ratesIndicative break cost
$300,0002 years1.0%About $6,000
$600,0002 years1.0%About $12,000
$600,0003 years0.5%About $9,000
$600,0001 year0.25%About $1,500
AnyAnyRates have risenUsually nil

These are illustrations of the simplified formula, not quotes. Lenders discount the future interest difference and use their own funding curve, so the real figure will differ; NAB publishes that the cost of funds changes each day and that you need a banker's quote.

What do lenders publish on break costs and thresholds?

Checked against each lender's published page on 20 September 2026; "Not published" means the page does not state it. Policies change without notice, so confirm before relying on them.

LenderName usedExtra repayments allowed while fixedTriggers namedHow to get a figureWays to avoid it
NABEconomic costUp to $20,000 during a fixed rate period without economic costsPaying out or changing the loan; paying more than scheduled when the cost of funds has droppedTalk to a banker; the cost of funds changes dailyPublishes that a fixed loan may not suit someone hoping to pay off early
WestpacBreak costA prepayment threshold applies; figure not stated on the pageRefinancing, selling, switching, prepaying above the threshold, default; can be charged more than onceRequest a break cost quote; can be tens of thousandsPortability when buying and selling during a fixed term
St.GeorgePrepayment break cost and switching break cost$30,000 prepayment threshold for the whole fixed periodPrepaying above the threshold; switching product, rate or payment typeAsk for an estimate; the figure is valid for a limited time; formula on requestPortability: break fees do not apply when the security is substituted
BankSAPrepayment break cost$30,000 prepayment threshold for the entire fixed periodPrepaying above the thresholdExplained in its break cost fact sheetSplit between up to four fixed and variable accounts; put extra repayments on the variable split
CommBankEarly repayment adjustmentNot published on the support pageNot published on the support pageAsk CommBankPublishes that fixed loans cannot be topped up without breaking the contract
Home Loan Experts (broker guide)Break feeLists lender caps of $20,000 or $30,000 per fixed term, $5,000 a year or 5% of the loan, or a set monthly amountExtra repayments above the cap; paying out the loanSimplified formula and a calculatorFlexible fixed products with higher caps

How to avoid break costs

Sell and buy with portability. Westpac and St.George both publish that substituting the security keeps the loan intact and break costs do not apply; the portability guide covers the rules. Keep a variable split. BankSA publishes up to four fixed and variable accounts on one property; put every extra dollar and the offset on the variable split and leave the fixed split at its minimum. Stay under the threshold. NAB's $20,000 and St.George's and BankSA's $30,000 are per fixed period, not per year, so spread larger prepayments across the term. Time the refinance. The fixed rate ending guide covers lining up a new loan for the day the fixed term expires, when the break cost is nil. Fix for the right length. The cost scales with the time remaining, so a shorter fixed term limits the exposure.

Is it ever worth paying?

Only when the interest saved over the rest of the fixed term is larger than the break cost plus the other refinancing costs, and that is unusual, because a fall in rates large enough to make refinancing attractive is the same fall that makes the break cost large. Get the written quote, put it against the saving, and include any cashback the new lender pays. A broker does this comparison routinely and can ask the lender for the quote on your behalf. Your Finance Guide refers you to one licensed broker partner for that; we do not lend or assess applications ourselves.

Break cost FAQs

How much does it cost to break a fixed-rate mortgage?
It depends on three things: the balance, the time left on the fixed term, and how far wholesale rates have fallen since you fixed. Home Loan Experts publishes the simplified formula, loan amount times remaining fixed term times the change in the cost of funds, with an example of $300,000 over two years at a 1% fall giving about $6,000. If rates have risen since you fixed, the break cost can be zero. Westpac and St.George both publish that it can run to tens of thousands of dollars, and that you should ask for an estimate before you act.
When is a break cost charged?
Westpac publishes the three triggers: refinancing or switching products during the fixed term, selling the property and repaying the loan, and making extra repayments above the prepayment threshold. St.George splits it into a prepayment break cost and a switching break cost. Westpac also publishes that it can be charged more than once in a fixed period, and that default with the whole balance falling due can trigger it too.
How much can I repay on a fixed loan without a break cost?
Up to the lender’s prepayment threshold. NAB publishes up to $20,000 in extra repayments during a fixed rate period without economic costs. St.George and BankSA publish a $30,000 prepayment threshold for the entire fixed period. Westpac publishes a threshold but not the figure on its break cost page. Home Loan Experts’ guide lists other lenders at $5,000 a year or 5% of the loan, or a set monthly amount. Above the threshold, the break cost is calculated on the excess.
Can I avoid break costs when I sell and buy?
Yes, with portability. Westpac publishes that customers with portability as a loan feature can use it when buying and selling during a fixed term to avoid break costs, and St.George publishes that substituting the security means break fees do not apply. The loan stays, the property securing it changes. The home loan portability guide covers the rules and timing.
Is it worth paying break costs to refinance?
Only when the interest saved over the remaining fixed term exceeds the break cost plus the switching fees, and that is rare while your fixed rate is above market, because the same fall in rates that makes refinancing attractive is what makes the break cost large. Ask your lender for a written break cost quote (St.George publishes that it will provide one and that the figure is valid for a limited time), then compare it with the saving in the refinancing costs guide. Usually the answer is to wait for the fixed term to end and refinance then.
Why is it called an economic cost or early repayment adjustment?
Different lenders, same fee. NAB calls it an economic cost, CommBank an early repayment adjustment, Westpac and St.George a break cost, and Westpac publishes a list of the other names in use. All of them describe the lender’s loss when it funded your fixed loan on the wholesale market at one rate and now has to reinvest your early repayment at a lower one.
How do I get a break cost quote?
Ask your lender, and ask in writing. Westpac and St.George both publish that the figure changes daily with wholesale rates, that it is only valid for a short period, and that you should get an estimate and independent advice before repaying early or switching. NAB publishes that the cost of funds changes each day and you need to talk to a banker for a quote. A broker can request it for you and put it beside the refinance saving.
Free · No obligation · One match

Leave a fixed rate without paying for it twice

Tell us your fixed rate, when it ends and why you want to move, and we refer you to one licensed broker partner who gets the break cost quote, weighs it against the saving, and finds the route that avoids it. Free for borrowers, no obligation.

★★★★★4.9 across 320+ broker-partner reviewsAustralian Credit Licence 505575Independent. Education first.
Get a free finance quote
60 secs · 50+ lenders · No fee
Start