Equipment finance Australia
Equipment and asset finance for Australian businesses
Equipment finance, also called asset finance, is a loan or lease secured by the equipment itself, so a business can put a truck, excavator, tractor or dental chair to work and pay for it over one to seven years. The asset is the security, which is why CommBank and NAB publish $0 deposit on equipment finance, and Westpac publishes approved funds within one business day for eligible customers. The structure you choose, a chattel mortgage, hire purchase, finance lease or operating lease, decides who owns the asset and when you claim the GST and the tax deductions.
- Terms of 1 to 7 years published by ANZ, Westpac and Unity Bank
- From $5,000 at online lenders; from $15,000 (Westpac) and $20,000 (CommBank) at the banks
- The asset is the security, so most purchases need no property
- Maker finance can undercut the banks on its own new machines
What are the repayments on $50,000 of equipment finance?
| Loan amount | Monthly repayment at | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| 8%p.a. | 10%p.a. | 12%p.a. | |
| $25,000 | $507 | $531 | $556 |
| $50,000 | $1,014 | $1,062 | $1,112 |
| $100,000 | $2,028 | $2,125 | $2,224 |
| $250,000 | $5,069 | $5,312 | $5,561 |
Illustrative monthly principal and interest repayments over 5 years, before fees and charges. Rates are examples, not offers; your rate depends on the lender and your circumstances. Run your own numbers.
A worked example. A GST-registered landscaper buys a $55,000 compact track loader, including $5,000 GST, on a five-year chattel mortgage at an illustrative 10% p.a. It repays about $1,169 a month, claims the $5,000 GST credit on its next BAS, and deducts the interest and the machine's depreciation. With a 30% balloon the repayment falls to about $956 a month, with $16,500 due at the end.
Move the sliders for your own amount, rate and term. For a balloon and the GST credit, use the full equipment finance calculator.
Equipment finance lenders a broker can compare
Specialist and bank lenders in our lender directory with an equipment finance product. The published terms of the major banks and online lenders follow below.
| Lender | Products | Current rate |
|---|---|---|
| Australia and New Zealand Banking GroupMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: ANZ rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Commonwealth Bank of AustraliaMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: CommBank rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| National Australia BankMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: NAB rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Westpac Banking CorporationMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: Westpac rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| BankSAMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: BankSA rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Suncorp BankMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: Suncorp Bank rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Bank of QueenslandTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: BOQ rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Bendigo and Adelaide BankTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: Bendigo Bank rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Angle FinanceSpecialist | Products:
| Current rate: Angle Finance rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| EarlypaySpecialist | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| GetCapital (Shift)Specialist | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| ScotPacSpecialist | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
Inclusion is editorial reference, not a recommendation. Rates change often, so we only show a rate we captured from the lender's own page in the last 60 days, with a link to that page; otherwise we link to the lender's rate card where it publishes one. The broker you are matched with compares the lenders on their own panel.
See all 13 equipment finance lendersWhat do lenders publish on equipment finance?
Every major bank writes equipment loans, and a growing group of non-bank lenders competes on speed and on younger businesses. The terms below are what each lender states on its own product page, checked between 19 and 30 September 2026. Rates are set for each business and asset, so a rate is shown only where one is published. Terms change without notice; confirm with the lender or your broker before relying on them.
| Lender | Minimum loan | Term | Deposit | New or used | Speed | Other published terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westpac | From $15,000 | 1 to 7 years | Not stated | New or used | Approved funds within 1 business day for eligible customers and assets | $0 monthly fees; equipment must be fully or mostly for business use; option of 3 months before the first repayment |
| CommBank | From $20,000 | Not published | $0 upfront deposit | New and used | Fast quote by phone or online; sign online | No monthly fees; optional balloon; documentation fee can be financed; up to 1% p.a. discount on eligible green assets; easier upgrade after 12 months of good repayments |
| ANZ | Not published | 1 to 7 years | $0 deposit may be needed on some loans | Not stated | Not published | Optional balloon; rate may be fixed for the term; $0 monthly admin fee on new contracts; establishment fee applies; early repayment fees may apply; 18+, current ABN, citizen or permanent resident |
| NAB | Not published | Not published | No upfront deposit | New or used | Not published | Chattel mortgage or finance lease; valid ABN; asset mostly for business use |
| Bendigo Bank | Not published | Not published | 100% finance, often no deposit | Not stated | Not published | Optional balloon; machinery, vehicles, manufacturing, printing and medical equipment; finance lease with a mandatory residual; current ABN |
| BOQ | $20,000 (hire purchase) | 1 to 5 years | 100% finance available | Not stated | Not published | Chattel mortgage, hire purchase, finance lease and a revolving limit; seasonal rentals and interest-only payments during installation on hire purchase |
| Unity Bank | Not published | Up to 7 years | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Fixed rate; $250 establishment fee; $0 monthly fee; early termination fee of at least 1.00% of the loan |
| Grow Finance (Dynamoney) | Not published | Balloon up to 40% on a 3-year term | Not stated | New (0 to 2 years) and used (3+ years) tiers | Many decisions within 24 hours | Loans to $1M; indicative fixed rate 9.55% p.a. in its calculator example; at least 12 months of ABN and GST registration; 6 months of bank statements may be required |
| Prospa | $5,000 | Up to 5 years | None | Not stated | Funding possible in hours | Up to $1M; no asset security required up to $150,000; property ownership required above that |
| Moula | $10,000 | Up to 5 years | None (unsecured) | Used equipment allowed | Credit decision within 24 hours | Unsecured business loan used for equipment; 12 months trading and $10,000 monthly sales |
Macquarie, Pepper Money and the specialist asset financiers (Angle, flexicommercial, Metro) write equipment finance through brokers and do not publish product terms on their public sites, so they are not in the table. A broker has their rate cards.
What is the current interest rate on equipment finance?
There is no single current rate. The major banks quote each deal rather than publish a headline equipment finance rate, and the published examples are narrow: Grow Finance shows an indicative fixed rate of 9.55% p.a. in its calculator example, and Kubota Australia Finance publishes promotional business rates from 0% to 4.65% p.a. over 36 months on specific Kubota series. Several banks also publish discounts for low-emission assets: CommBank up to 1% p.a. on electric vehicles and up to 0.50% p.a. on other qualifying assets, ANZ 0.80% p.a. on approved energy-efficient assets with the Clean Energy Finance Corporation, and NAB 0.5% p.a. on qualifying green equipment.
What sets the rate you are quoted
- The asset: its type, age at the end of the term, and how easily the lender could resell it.
- The structure: the term and any balloon, which is interest-bearing for the whole term.
- The business: time trading, financials or bank statements, and the owners' credit files.
- The lender: banks, maker finance arms and specialist lenders price the same file differently.
What is asset finance, and is it better than a loan?
Asset finance is borrowing to buy, or leasing, a business asset with the asset itself as the security. For a specific purchase it usually beats an unsecured business loan: unsecured business loans carry higher rates because the lender has no specific asset to claim if you default, while asset finance often needs no deposit and can carry a balloon. An unsecured loan is the tool for small or fast purchases and costs that are not assets; Prospa lends from $5,000 with no asset security up to $150,000.
Is asset finance easy to get?
Easier than most business credit, because the asset secures it. It is not automatic: lenders check trading history, cash flow and credit files, and a business under 12 months old, an old or specialised asset, or a poor credit file narrows the lenders that will say yes, usually at a higher rate or with a deposit.
What do you need to qualify?
- An ABN, and the asset used fully or mostly for business (Westpac, NAB).
- At ANZ, applicants aged 18 or over who are Australian citizens or permanent residents.
- Trading history: 12 months at CommBank; 12 months of ABN and GST registration at Grow Finance.
- For bank amounts, two years of financials and tax returns and your current BAS; low-doc lenders work from bank statements.
Chattel mortgage, hire purchase or lease: what is the difference?
Each structure puts the ownership, the GST credit and the tax deductions in a different place. Pick the one that matches how long you will keep the asset, then compare lenders.
| Structure | Who owns it | GST credit (if registered) | Income tax | End of term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chattel mortgage | You, from day one; the lender registers a security interest on the PPSR | Claimed on the price on your next BAS | Interest and depreciation, or the instant asset write-off if eligible | Pay the last instalment or balloon; the security is released |
| Hire purchase | The lender until the last payment, then you automatically | Claimed up front for agreements made since 1 July 2012 | Treated as a purchase: you claim depreciation and the interest | Ownership passes when the final payment is made |
| Finance lease | The lessor | Claimed on each rental | Rentals deductible | A residual set at the start: pay it, refinance it or return the asset, as the contract allows |
| Operating lease | The lessor, which carries the resale risk | Claimed on each rental | Rentals deductible | Hand back, upgrade, extend or make an offer to buy |
Sources: ATO guidance on GST for hire purchase and leasing, and the ATO Guide to depreciating assets 2025. General information only; confirm the treatment for your business with your accountant.
Equipment finance by asset
A used excavator finances differently to a new crane or a forklift fleet. Working life, resale value and who makes the machine all change the lender shortlist.
Excavator finance
Mini to large excavators, new or used, including dealer offers on compact machines.
- Chattel mortgage, hire purchase or lease
- New, used and private-sale machines
- Term matched to working life
Truck finance
Rigids, tippers, prime movers and trailers for owner-drivers and fleets.
- Chattel mortgage or hire purchase
- Balloon to lower repayments
- New, used and fleet purchases
Forklift finance
Electric, LPG and diesel forklifts, bought or leased, new or used.
- Buy or lease
- Electric-model discounts at some banks
- New and used forklifts
Crane finance
Mobile, crawler and tower cranes, sized against your contracts and financials.
- Large-asset structures
- Balloon matched to resale value
- New and used cranes
Machinery finance
Manufacturing, agricultural, industrial and earth-moving machinery.
- Banks and specialist lenders
- Installation-period payment options
- New and used machines
Equipment finance by industry
Broker, bank or dealer finance?
Going straight to your bank is simplest if it already knows your business and prices the asset well. Dealer and manufacturer finance can be the cheapest money on a new machine of its own brand, but it only finances that brand. An asset finance broker compares the banks, maker finance and the specialist lenders that only work through brokers, and handles the application and settlement.
Your Finance Guide is free to use. Licensed brokers who meet our criteria pay Your Finance Guide a partnership fee to receive enquiries from this site. The fee is paid by the broker, not by you, and is not added to your loan. Brokers are usually also paid a commission by the lender when a loan settles. Full details are in our Credit Guide.
How the major banks write equipment finance
Editorial profiles of each bank's equipment lending, with the terms they publish. Independent editorial, not lender advertising.
From $15,000, 1 to 7 years, approved funds within 1 business day
No upfront deposit; new or used; chattel mortgage or finance lease
From $20,000, $0 deposit, no monthly fees, up to 1% p.a. off green assets
1 to 7 years, optional balloon, $0 deposit possible
Chattel mortgage and hire purchase over 1 to 5 years; medical lending via BOQ Specialist
Broker channel; terms not published on the public site
- NewsEquipment finance and EOFY 2026: making the instant asset write-off work without breaking cash flow
- NewsMissed the 30 June write-off deadline? What FY2026-27 actually gives your business
- BlogEOFY 2026 Business Finance Checklist: Instant Asset Write-Off, Equipment Finance & Tax Timing
- BlogEquipment Finance Tax Benefits: Maximise Your Deductions
WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the example given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees, or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate. Comparison rates are calculated on a secured loan of $150,000 over 25 years for home loans, a loan of $30,000 over 5 years for car and personal loans, and $50,000 over 5 years for equipment finance, unless the lender states another basis.
Equipment finance FAQs
What is the current interest rate on equipment finance in Australia?
Can you give me an example of equipment financing?
Who has the best equipment financing?
What is the meaning of asset finance?
Is asset finance better than a loan?
What are the requirements to qualify for asset finance?
Is asset finance easy to get?
What is the monthly payment on a $50,000 business loan?
How much can you borrow with equipment finance?
How long can you finance equipment for?
Can a new business get equipment finance?
What types of equipment can I finance?
What’s the difference between a chattel mortgage and an operating lease?
Can I get equipment finance with bad credit?
How much deposit do I need?
Can I finance used equipment?
How long does approval take?
Ready to finance your equipment?
Answer a few quick questions and get matched with a licensed asset finance broker who compares lenders on your equipment and explains the structure. Free to use, no obligation.