Guarantor home loans
How much is a $600,000 guarantor loan per month?
| Loan amount | Monthly repayment at | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| 6%p.a. | 6.5%p.a. | 7%p.a. | |
| $400,000 | $2,398 | $2,528 | $2,661 |
| $500,000 | $2,998 | $3,160 | $3,327 |
| $600,000 | $3,597 | $3,792 | $3,992 |
| $700,000 | $4,197 | $4,424 | $4,657 |
| $800,000 | $4,796 | $5,057 | $5,322 |
Illustrative monthly principal and interest repayments over 30 years, before fees and charges. Rates are examples, not offers; your rate depends on the lender and your circumstances. A guarantor adds security, not a rate premium, and some lenders lend up to the full price plus costs, so the loan can be close to the purchase price. You repay the whole loan yourself, including the guaranteed portion. Run your own numbers.
Guarantor home loan lenders a broker can compare
Lenders in our directory that write variable home loans. Not all of them accept a family guarantee: St.George (with Bank of Melbourne and BankSA), ANZ, NAB, Westpac and CommBank publish one, set out in the table further down, and the broker checks the rest for your file.
| Lender | Products | Current rate |
|---|---|---|
| Westpac Banking CorporationMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: 6.39%p.a. 6.77% p.a. comparison rate* Premier Advantage Variable · Rocket Repay variable with offset in the Premier Advantage Package ($395 annual fee), owner-occupier P&I, loans over $150,000, LVR up to 70%. Westpac has announced changes to its variable rates effective 9 October 2026; this rate was captured before that date. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Westpac rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| UnloanMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: 5.89%p.a. 5.80% p.a. comparison rate* Live-In Home Loan · Live in (owner-occupier), P&I, up to 80% LVR; includes the 0.01% p.a. year-one loyalty discount; no Unloan fees. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Unloan rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| ING AustraliaTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: 6.04%p.a. 6.07% p.a. comparison rate* Mortgage Simplifier Variable · Mortgage Simplifier variable, owner-occupier P&I, LVR 60% or less (lowest tier), minimum total borrowings $150,000. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: ING rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| Macquarie BankTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: 6.04%p.a. 6.29% p.a. comparison rate* Offset Variable Home Loan · Offset Home Loan, owner-occupier P&I, LVR ≤60% (lowest tier); annual fee applies. Macquarie has announced a 0.25% p.a. increase to its variable rates effective 15 October 2026; this rate was captured before that date. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Macquarie rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| Bank AustraliaCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: 6.13%p.a. 6.13% p.a. comparison rate* Basic Home Loan · Basic Home Loan variable, owner-occupier P&I, LVR ≤60% (lowest tier); no establishment or annual fee. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Bank Australia rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| Beyond Bank AustraliaCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: 6.09%p.a. 6.44% p.a. comparison rate* Total Home Loan Package Variable · Total Home Loan Package variable, LVR ≤60% (lowest tier); $395 annual package fee. Investment loans have a separate rate schedule. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Beyond Bank rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| Defence BankCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: 6.24%p.a. 6.24% p.a. comparison rate* Variable Home Loan · Premier Low Rate home loan, variable "from" rate (investor version priced separately); comparison on a $150,000 secured loan over 25 years. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Defence Bank rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| IMB BankCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: 5.99%p.a. 6.02% p.a. comparison rate* Budget Home Loan Variable · Budget Home Loan, owner-occupier P&I, LVR up to 70% (lowest tier); includes IMB's current discount margin. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: IMB rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| Newcastle Permanent (Newcastle Greater Mutual Group)Customer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: 5.94%p.a. 5.98% p.a. comparison rate* Real Deal Home Loan Variable · Real Deal Home Loan special rate for new borrowers (minimum loan size applies), owner-occupier P&I, LVR 80% and below. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Newcastle Permanent rates page (opens in a new tab) |
| Athena Home LoansDigital-first | Products:
| Current rate: 6.24%p.a. 6.24% p.a. comparison rate* Straight Up · Straight Up variable, owner-occupier P&I, LVR 0-50% (lowest tier); no fees. As at 30 Sept 2026 · Source: Athena rates page (opens in a new tab) |
Show all 35 lendersShow fewer lenders
| Lender | Products | Current rate |
|---|---|---|
| Australia and New Zealand Banking GroupMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: ANZ rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Commonwealth Bank of AustraliaMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: CommBank rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| National Australia BankMajor bank | Products:
| Current rate: NAB rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Bank of MelbourneMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| BankSAMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: BankSA rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| BankwestMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: Bankwest rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| St.George BankMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| Suncorp BankMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: Suncorp Bank rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| UBankMajor-bank brand | Products:
| Current rate: UBank rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Bank of QueenslandTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: BOQ rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Bendigo and Adelaide BankTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| ME BankTier-2 bank | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| Heritage Bank (People First Bank)Customer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| People First BankCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| Police BankCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| Teachers Mutual BankCustomer-owned | Products:
| Current rate: Teachers Mutual rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Bluestone MortgagesNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| FirstmacNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| La Trobe FinancialNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: La Trobe Financial rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Liberty FinancialNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: Liberty rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Pepper MoneyNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: Pepper Money rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| RedZedNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: RedZed rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| Resimac GroupNon-bank | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
| Tic:Toc (now Tiimely Home)Digital-first | Products:
| Current rate: Tic:Toc rate card (opens in a new tab) |
| HSBC Bank AustraliaForeign bank | Products:
| Current rate: Ask a broker |
Inclusion is editorial reference, not a recommendation. Rates change often, so we only show a rate we captured from the lender's own page in the last 60 days, with a link to that page; otherwise we link to the lender's rate card where it publishes one. The broker you are matched with compares the lenders on their own panel.
* WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the example given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees, or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate. Home loan comparison rates are based on a secured loan of $150,000 over 25 years.
- Buy with as little as zero deposit by using a family member's property as security
- Avoid Lenders Mortgage Insurance (LMI), saving $10,000 to $40,000
- Guarantor is only liable for a limited portion, not the entire loan
- The guarantee can be released once you build 20% equity (typically 2-5 years)
- Standard interest rates apply, no premium for using a guarantor
How does a guarantor home loan work?
A guarantor home loan, often called a family guarantee or family pledge, uses equity in a family member's property as additional security for your home loan. The guarantor does not lend you money, co-sign the loan, or appear on the title of your new property. Instead, their property is offered as a limited guarantee that tops up your deposit to an effective 20% or more, allowing you to avoid LMI entirely.
The loan is split in two
The loan is typically structured as two separate portions. The first is a standard home loan covering up to 80% of your property value, which carries the best available interest rate and is secured solely against your new property. The second is the guaranteed portion, covering the remaining balance (the gap between your deposit and 20%). This portion is secured by both your property and the guarantor's property.
How much the guarantor is exposed to
This structure means the guarantor's exposure is limited to the guaranteed amount only, not your entire loan. If your property is worth $700,000 and you have a $35,000 deposit (5%), the guaranteed portion is approximately $105,000 (the difference between your 5% deposit and the 20% needed to avoid LMI). The guarantor is only at risk for this $105,000, not the full $665,000 loan.
Which lenders offer family guarantees, and what do they publish?
Every major bank offers a version, under different names. The structures are similar; the published detail on what the guarantee can cover and when it is released is where they differ. Checked against each lender's published product page on 19 September 2026. Terms change without notice; confirm the current position with the lender or your broker before relying on it. Where a lender does not publish a figure the cell says so.
| Lender | Product name | What the guarantee covers | Release | Other published terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| St.George (also Bank of Melbourne and BankSA) | Family Pledge | Up to 100% of the purchase price plus costs such as stamp duty and legal fees; the guarantee is limited to a nominated amount, not the whole loan | On request once LVR requirements are met and LMI would not be required on the remaining balance | No extra fee for the option (standard guarantee and legal fees apply); available on refinances |
| ANZ | Family Security Guarantee | A family member's home equity tops your deposit up to 20%; ANZ's example is $25,000 saved plus a $75,000 guarantee on a $500,000 purchase | Once your own equity reaches the threshold | Avoids LMI |
| NAB | Home loan guarantor | Usually the gap to a 20% deposit | When the loan is at or below about 80% of the property value, through a formal review or refinance | Lender assesses both borrower and guarantor |
| Westpac | Family Security Guarantee | Additional security from the guarantor that reduces your LVR below the LMI threshold; Westpac's example is $40,000 on a $300,000 property | Not stated on the product page | Avoids LMI |
| CommBank | Guarantor Support | All of the loan or a smaller part of it, at the guarantor's choice | Not stated on the product page | May avoid LMI or the Low Deposit Premium; available with most CommBank home loans; independent legal and financial advice recommended |
What are the benefits of a guarantor loan?
The advantages of a guarantor arrangement extend well beyond simply avoiding the deposit barrier. Understanding the full range of benefits helps you appreciate why this structure has become so popular among first home buyers and their families.
No lenders mortgage insurance
LMI on a $700,000 property with a 5% deposit can cost $25,000 to $35,000. With a guarantor, this cost is eliminated entirely because the guarantee effectively creates a 20%+ security position. This saving alone can be the equivalent of several years of additional saving.
Enter the market sooner
In a rising property market, the time spent saving for a 20% deposit can be counterproductive. If property prices increase by 5% per year and you need three more years to save a full deposit, you could find yourself chasing a moving target. A guarantor loan lets you enter the market now and benefit from price growth rather than being disadvantaged by it.
Standard interest rates
Unlike low deposit home loans that attract higher rates or LMI premiums, a guarantor loan typically qualifies for the same competitive interest rates as a borrower with a 20% deposit. There is no rate penalty for using a guarantor.
No money changes hands
Unlike a cash gift from parents (which may have implications for Centrelink and tax), providing a guarantee does not involve any transfer of money. The parents retain full ownership and use of their property. No stamp duty, capital gains, or gift complications arise.
What are the risks for the guarantor?
Being a guarantor is a serious financial commitment, and it is essential that both the borrower and guarantor fully understand the risks involved. While the risk is limited and the arrangement is temporary, the potential consequences of default must be considered.
If the borrower defaults
If the borrower defaults on the loan and the lender is unable to recover the full amount from selling the borrower's property, the lender can call on the guarantee. In the worst case, this could mean the lender places a caveat on or seeks to sell the guarantor's property to recover the guaranteed amount. However, this scenario is extremely rare and involves multiple steps before reaching that point.
How the risk is limited
To manage this risk, the guarantee should be structured as a limited guarantee (which it is in standard family guarantee products) capping the guarantor's exposure to a specific dollar amount. Both parties must receive independent legal advice before signing, ensuring the guarantor fully understands their obligations. The borrower should maintain adequate income and expense buffers, and both parties should have appropriate insurance in place.
When can the guarantor be released?
A guarantor arrangement is designed to be temporary. The goal is to release the guarantor as soon as the borrower builds sufficient equity to stand on their own. This typically happens when the loan-to-value ratio reaches 80% or below, the same threshold at which LMI is no longer required.
How equity builds
Equity builds through three mechanisms: regular loan repayments that reduce the principal balance, extra repayments that accelerate principal reduction, and property value appreciation. In practice, most borrowers can release their guarantor within 2-5 years, depending on the initial LVR and the rate of property value growth.
A worked example
For example, if you purchase a $700,000 property with a $665,000 loan (95% LVR), you need to reduce the loan to $560,000 (80% LVR) to release the guarantor. Through regular repayments over 3 years, you might reduce the balance by approximately $20,000 to $645,000. If the property has also appreciated by 5% to $735,000, your LVR is now $645,000 / $735,000 = 87.8%. Adding some extra repayments or waiting for a bit more growth would get you to the 80% threshold.
How the release works
A good broker tracks your equity position and prompts the release as soon as you qualify; you can also ask the lender for a review at any time. The release involves a formal property valuation to confirm the current value and a partial discharge of the guarantor's mortgage from the guaranteed portion of your loan.
How to Get a Guarantor Home Loan
Assessment
The broker assesses both the borrower and guarantor positions, including equity, income, and borrowing capacity.
Legal Advice
Both parties receive independent legal advice as required. The broker coordinates with your solicitors.
Application
The broker submits the application with the guarantee structure and manages approval through to settlement.
Guarantor Release
The broker monitors your equity and starts the guarantor release once your loan reaches 80% LVR.
Guarantor Loan Requirements
Related Home Loan Options
Guarantor Home Loan FAQs
How long does a guarantor stay on a mortgage?
What are the disadvantages of being a guarantor on a mortgage?
How much of a deposit do you need if you have a guarantor?
Is it easy to get a guarantor loan?
Can you borrow 100% of the purchase price with a guarantor?
Can a guarantor be used on a refinance?
Does the guarantor have to be a parent?
How does a guarantor home loan work?
Who can be a guarantor?
What are the risks for the guarantor?
When can the guarantor be released?
Can the guarantor borrow against their own property while guaranteeing mine?
Do I need any deposit at all with a guarantor loan?
WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the example given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees, or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate. Comparison rates are calculated on a secured loan of $150,000 over 25 years for home loans, a loan of $30,000 over 5 years for car and personal loans, and $50,000 over 5 years for equipment finance, unless the lender states another basis.
Ready to Buy with Family Support?
Answer a few quick questions and a licensed mortgage broker who works guarantor lending will show which lender's family guarantee fits your deposit and your guarantor's equity. Free, no obligation.